Back
DK130509

Aarhus C, Denmark

Livingroom

Livingroom

Kitchen

Kitchen

Livingroom

Livingroom

Livingroom

Livingroom

Bedroom

Bedroom

Livingroom Kitchen Livingroom Livingroom Bedroom
Bronze

Member since

2013


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Apartment in Aarhus C, Denmark

We live in a apartment in the upper two stories of a house, that is four stories high and it is located in one of the most attractive parts of Aarhus. It is situated in the very centre of the town within a few hundred meters from the railway station, museums, city hall, shopping centre and main pedestrian area.
One of the nearby museums is the famous ARoS. (en.aros.dk)
 
Despite the central position, the neighbourhood is very quiet.
 
If you like to eat well, this is THE place. During the past ten years our neighbourhood has become almost crowded with a very wide selection of shops selling different kinds of food-stuff.  E.g. within 100 meters we have five bakeries, each with their special selection of bread and cookies.
Each Wednesday and Saturday there is a market a few hundreds meter from our house. Here you can buy fresh vegetables, fruits, fish, cheese and flowers. 
www.visitaarhus.com/ln-int/danmark/ingerslevs-boulevard-gdk603483
 
If you prefer to eat out, there are a rich variety of café’s, restaurants and take-away nearby.
 
Aarhus is a very charming town with a lot of nice walks and sights.
 
If you are more into active life, you only have to go 1 km south to reach the sea and the beginning of a 20 km recreational area along the coast with beaches and the typical, beautiful Danish beech forest. 
A paradise for running, biking and walking.
You even can challenge the steep hillsides riding mountain bikes on specially prepared trails in the forest.
 
We have two cats and would like very much, if you would take care of them. It is possible to leave them for up to three days. In case this is a problem and YOU are our favourite exchange-partner, it is possible for us to make arrangements with a kennel, though.

Earlier, when our children were small, we often made exchanges in Germany and Netherlands. In 2013 we made an exchange with #FR110964 in Tours, France.

In 2016 Lonely Planet had Aarhus as #02 on the list of places to visit:
01 Peloponnes, Grækenland
02 Aarhus, Danmark
03 Venedig, Italien
04 Dordogne, Frankrig
05 Lviv, Ukraine
06 Warwickshire, England
07 Extremadura, Spanien
08 Tenerifes east Coast, De Kanariske Øer
09 Texel, Holland
10 Norddalmatiaen, Kroatien

Check out these links:
Lonely Planet:
www.lonelyplanet.com/best-in-europe

National Geographic (#06 on the list):
www.natgeotraveller.co.uk/smart-travel/features/cool-list-17-2017/

The Independent:
www.independent.co.uk/travel/48-hours-in/aarhus-city-break-hotels-where-to-stay-eat-drink-bars-restaurants-attractions-european-capital-of-a7484336.html

Forbes:
www.forbes.com/sites/breannawilson/2016/10/31/the-20-best-things-to-do-in-aarhus-denmark-the-2017-european-capital-of-culture/#5121df50b06b

The Guardian:
www.theguardian.com/travel/2016/apr/05/aarhus-denmark-city-of-culture-2017

New York Times:
www.nytimes.com/2016/11/20/travel/aarhus-danish-street-food-market.html?_r=2

Vogue (#09 on the list):
www.vogue.com/13515667/top-travel-destinations-2017/

 

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 3

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Poland
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Netherlands

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

  • shopping Bruuns Galleri (0.5 km)
  • lake Brabrand Sø (5.5 km)
  • forest Marselis Skoven (2.8 km)
  • golfing Aarhus Golf Club (6.6 km)
  • boating Marselisborg Lystbådehavn (1.5 km)
  • sea Aarhus Bugt (1.5 km)
  • beach Tangkrogen (1.5 km)

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Teacher

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • Cats, Siamese

References

This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: