Back
IS1000593

Hafnarfjordur, Iceland

Our house, seen from the street. The garage is on the left.

Our house, seen from the street. The garage is on the left.

I, Sigrun, and my husband, Jon.

I, Sigrun, and my husband, Jon.

Sigrun, and our daughters, Maria and Sara. The picture is taken from the porch in our summer cottage.

Sigrun, and our daughters, Maria and Sara. The picture is taken from the porch in our summer cottage.

Bronze

Member since

2013


Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
June 10, 2022 - July 08, 2022 2 weeks

A beautiful house at a quiet cul-de-sac

My house is a located at the bottom of a quiet street in a residential area. The house is 160 m2, not counting the garage. It has a garage and a small, landscaped garden with a porch. The house has three bedrooms, an office and one bathroom, living room, dining room, foyer, laundry room and a kitchen. In the master bedroom there is a double bed, in one of the bedrooms there is an elevated bed and in another a single bed. If more bedding is needed we can provide a mattress to put on the floor in the office or a travel bed.A cot for a small child could also be arranged.
There is also wi-fi in the house, PlayStation3 and access to Netflix on the tv.

Several playgrounds for children are to be found within 2 minutes walk. Within walking distance are two heated swimming pools, one indoors and other outdoors, both equipped with saunas and outdoor hot-pots, a gorgeous golf course by the sea, two gyms and a harbor with a small cafe. A supermarket is located within 10 min walking distance and there's a kiosk two streets away. Also within walking distance (15 min) is a small lake, Astjorn, with a walking path around it. If you are interesting in going riding there is a company offering riding tours located in Hafnarfjordur, Ishestar.
Our car will be at your disposal but if you want to take the bus it's only 2 minutes away and it goes straight to downtown Reykjavik.
Our town, Hafnarfjordur, is Iceland's 3rd biggest town including the capital, and it is a thriving one, with nice restaurants, good shops, a small shopping centre, art museum where concerts are regularly held, and more. One of the restaurants is a viking themed one, Fjorukrain, linked to Hotel Viking, where there are regular viking themed events. Hafnarfjordur is quite beautiful, surrounded by lava-fields.
ATTENTION: We have 3 hens that provide eggs irregularly, they can be left alone for 2-3 days. The eggs need collecting and would yours of course. We have a dog as well but he would be in a kennel during this time.

A few tidbits of info:

Geysir = 1.5 hour by car
The Blue Lagoon = 25 minutes by car
Airport = 30 minutes by car

A few helpful links:

Hafnarfjordur, the town:
http://www.visithafnarfjordur.is/

The Hidden People of Hafnarfjordur
http://www.alfar.is/

The Viking Village in Hafnarfjordur:
http://fjorukrain.is/en/

Riding tours in Hafnarfjordur:
http://www.ishestar.is/Daytours/Product/D02--Lava-Tour

Diving in Iceland is an experience you won't soon forget and Silfra on Thingvellir is considered one of the most beautiful places to dive in. Here is a link to one diving site:
http://www.adventures.is/Iceland/Diving/

A few cameras positioned around Iceland:
http://www.livefromiceland.is/

Some things to see and do in Reykjavik:
http://goscandinavia.about.com/od/thingstodo/tp/reykjavikattrac.htm

Useful info on Iceland, Reykjavik and walking tours:
http://www.myreykjavik.is/#!faq/cqh1

A nice website for family travel in Iceland:
http://ontoiceland.com/

We have already swapped with Sweden and Denmark so we are not looking for a house in these countries, lovely as they are :)

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher and journalist
  • Computer programmer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Total Area: 213 m2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Czechia
  • Poland
  • Europe
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Germany

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dansk
  • Islenska

Occupation

  • Teacher and journalist
  • Computer programmer

Children

  • Girl - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 12

Pets

  • 3 hens

References

This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: