Back
GB1007450

Tavistock, Great Britain

View from the garden of the back of the house

View from the garden of the back of the house

View from the garden of the back of the house
Platinum

Member since

2015


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A spacious family home in South West England, near Dartmoor, the coast and more!

Our spacious, modern family home is situated in the historic town of Tavistock in Devon, South West England, at the western edge of the beautiful Dartmoor National Park.

Built 16 years ago, it has four bedrooms with two double rooms, and two singles, with two extra single beds available for use in any of the bedrooms. The master bedroom has an ensuite bathroom and lovely views of the garden (we get the early-morning sun shining in). The family bathroom is next to the second double bedroom at the other end of the hallway, also overlooking the rear garden.

Downstairs we have a large family room with the kitchen at one end where we spend most of our time as a family and with friends. There is a large fridge/freezer and plenty of storage space, with the dining table and a (surprisingly comfortable) king-sized sofa-bed at the far end, which can also be used to sleep on.

There is a log-burning stove in the lounge (and plenty of logs supplied, should you need them), with satellite television and an X-Box on the 55inch TV, lots of DVDs and plenty of comfy sofas to watch them from. Through double doors you reach the play room, which is filled with Lego, dolls houses, art equipment and train sets. We also have a downstairs WC, and a separate utility room with additional fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer.

Outside we have a large garden, several patio areas around the house, a private driveway which can accommodate three cars easily and a double garage. There is also a climbing frame and slides, plus a large trampoline to play on and lots of toys, bikes, games and sporting equipment in the garage.

Tavistock attracts walkers, cyclists, nature-lovers, and tourists from around the world who enjoy its charming shops, including a world-famous pannier market, and ease of access to Dartmoor and the fabulous coastline of Devon and Cornwall. There are many excellent beaches within an hour's drive, with the historic naval port of Plymouth around 25 minutes away by car. We are a five-minute stroll from the town centre of Tavistock, and within a short walk from the edge of Dartmoor. Just up the road is Tavistock's stunning 18-hole moorland golf course, with the town's picturesque park and play area, tennis courts and swimming pool nearby.

We are Mike (university lecturer and sports journalist), Louise (university counsellor), Ella (ten) and James (six) and we love living here: whether we choose to relax in the garden to enjoy the peace, head off for one of our favourite walks on Dartmoor, or spend a day at the beach. Tavistock is an excellent base from which to explore all of Devon and Cornwall for families, couples or a combination of both.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 12 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Mike - University lecturer
  • Louise - University Counsellor

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Sauna private
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 6

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • France
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Canada

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Occupation

  • Mike - University lecturer
  • Louise - University Counsellor

Children

  • Boy - Age: 8
  • Girl - Age: 12

Pets

  • Cat
  • Cat

About Our Family

We love where we live and exploring the outdoors, especially Dartmoor and the local coastline. Ella is 10, has red hair and loves spending time with the cats that joined our family on 2016. James is a very tall 6 year old who loves science experiments and making things (look out for his bird box in our garden!) Mike loves sports and cooking and Louise enjoys reading and spending time with her lovely family.

Lifestyle

We love to walk on the moors, swim in the sea and explore new places. James is into litter picking on nearby beaches and Ella loves any animal you can name!

References