Caen, France


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 08, 2023 - August 31, 2023 2 weeks

Ready for the summer holidays! 2 weeks or more would be great, depending on destinations.


Quiet house in the city centre of Caen, Normandy.

Our House is a 1950s house situated on a quiet one way street. About 110 m2 on 3 levels. We have a fully equiped kitchen, two bedrooms, one sofa bed in the living room, two toilets, one bathroom.
There is also a terrace at the back of the house overlooking the garden (100m2).

The best way to reach Caen if you arrive by plane is probably to take a "Ouibus" or "Flixbus", taking you straight from the airports -Orly or Roissy- to Caen bus station. Then a short ride by bus or tram, and you'll be home!
You can take a train too, but that means a connection in Paris St Lazare station. Paris is just 2 hours by train from Caen.

The house is close to shops and located near a large park, "la Vallée des Jardins".

The Memorial Museum is worth a visit if you're interested in World War 2 and the Cold War. (It's the most visited museum in France outside Paris) It is a 20-minute walk through the park to get there.

You can reach the city center on foot in 20 minutes through the castle grounds.

Caen is 20kms from the sea.
Our favorite beach: Merville-Franceville, family friendly and very easy to access, an international kitesurf spot!
Ouistreham is also very pleasant.
It is possible to go there by bike on the cycling routes along the canal, in around 1 hour.

20 min from Bayeux, a great little town with buildings from the Middle Ages, and of course the famous Tapestry telling about William the Conqueror invasion of Britain! (1066)

30 min from Arromanches to start your discovery of the landing beaches.

40 min from Suisse Normande, a paradise for hiking, kayaking and cycling (Clécy, Thury-Harcourt, ...)

1 hour drive from Deauville, Honfleur and also 1 hour for Le Havre.

1 hour also to access the bay of Mt St Michel.

1h45 by car to reach Brittany, St Malo.

...and about 2 hours by train to have a day-out in Paris!

Maison des années 50 située dans une rue tranquille tout près du centre ville.
Environ 110 m2 sur 3 étages. 2 chambre, un bureau, un salon, 2 toilettes et une salle de bains.
Parking +Terrasse + jardin

La maison est proche des commerces et située près d'un grand parc, "la Vallée des Jardins"
Le musée du Mémorial (Musée le plus visité en province) est à 20 minutes à pied à travers le parc. Vous pouvez rejoindre le centre ville à pied en 20 min à travers les espaces du château.

Caen est à 20kms de la mer.
Notre plage préférée: Merville-Franceville, familiale et très facile d'accès, un spot international de kitesurf!
Ouistreham est également très agréable.
Possibilité de s'y rendre en vélo par les sites cyclables en 1 heure environ.

20 min de Bayeux.

30 min d'Arromanches pour débuter votre découverte des plages du débarquement.

40 min de la Suisse Normande, un paradis pour la randonnée et le vélo (Clécy, Thury-Harcourt,...)

1 heure de route de Deauville, Honfleur et aussi 1 h pour le Havre.

1h également pour accéder à la baie du Mt St Michel.

1h45 de voiture pour rejoindre la Bretagne, St Malo.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • Teachers.

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Austria
  • Germany
  • Switzerland
  • Scotland, UK
  • Bergen, Norway
  • Iceland
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Scotland, UK
  • United States
  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • Portugal
  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français


  • Teachers.


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.


We 've travelled mainly in Europe, but in North and central America too. We enjoy visiting cities as much as the countryside. We are interested in architecture, museums and other sights.
We love reading, watching films, going to concerts. Jean-Bernard practises golf on a very regular base, and we enjoy hiking and cycling too.
We would consider any offer and will reply to your e-mails.
We keep our house clean and tidy and would do the same with yours.

Nous avons voyagé surtout en Europe, mais aussi en Amérique centrale et du nord. Nous apprécions des endroits très différents comme les grandes villes et leur architecture, les musées, les concerts...mais aussi la nature.
Nous aimons lire et regarder des films. Nous marchons souvent pour découvrir les environs. Nous pratiquons la randonnée et apprécions les sorties à vélo.
Jean-Bernard pratique très régulièrement le golf.
Nous considérerons toute offre avec attention et nous engageons à répondre à d'éventuels e-mails.

Translate this


This member has completed 9 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: