Oulu, Finland

River view from roof terrace

River view from roof terrace


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 18, 2024 - October 27, 2024 1 weeks

Looking for a swap for the school holiday week in southern Europe. This could be an unsimultaneous exchange, too. Would You like to come to Finland for example for Christmas or some summer week 2024?

December 21, 2024 - January 05, 2025 1 weeks

You could also come already for Christmas, we will spend christmas with our family on the other side of Finland. So You could stay even for 2 weeks, we only for one week after christmas. This could also be an unsimultaneous exchange.

July 01, 2025 - July 31, 2025 2 weeks

Looking for a swap in Munich area. There are direct flights from Oulu to Munich now. This swap could also happen earlier than in summer 2025. Make a suggestion!


Cosy, large house with a river view and large terraces

Our house is located in a place with country side feeling, with a view to the river and fields, but only 6 kilometres from the centre of Oulu. The location is beautiful by nature and the house fits the site well. The house was built in 1980 and fully renovated between 2010-2014. The architecture of the house was inspired by Alvar Aalto, and we find the interior beautiful.
The house has got a spacious, nice sauna heated with wood.

Finland has four very different seasons. During summer You could experience the midnight sun and go swimming either in a small lake, in the river or in the sea. The swimming places in the lake and river are close by. You need a car to go to the Nallikari beach by the sea, which is about 8km away from the house.

Temperatures between 20-25 celsius are quite normal during daytime in June, July and August. Our first exchange guests experienced a heat wave with temperatures around +30 for two weeks, but that hot weather is very atypical. The terraces of the house are facing south and west and sheltered from the winds, so if the sun shines the terraces are quite nice for having a meal.
We have bikes for 3 adults and kids the same age and smaller than our kids. Oulu is nice for cycling. We also have a canoe which can fit a small family, so You could explore rivers and Finnish nature also with a canoe.

However If You wish to change during winter months, You can have the arctic experience with snow, cross country skiing and ice skating. There is a skating ring just 500 metres from the house and also skiing tracks start close. During February and March it is just lovely to go skiing with lots of sunshine.

We have agreed about a swap for summer July 2024, but are interested in swaps during 18.-27.10.2024, Christmas time 2024 and summer 2025.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • architects

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 5


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Iceland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Estonia
  • Canary Islands, Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Suomeksi


  • architects


  • Girl - Age: 11
  • Boy - Age: 8


  • cat

About Our Family

We are a family of four people. Riikka (born 1978) , Antti (1981), Aili (2013) and Okko (2016).
As a family we like to be outdoors, go swimming and be in the parks during summer time, and go skating, skiing and sliding during wintertime. Every year we spend some time at our summer cottage in south-eastern Finland.
Us parents are both architects. Riikka is a founding partner of Luo Architects ( and Antti a founding partner of alt architects. ( Besides work Antti is interested in telemark skiing and playing guitar and base, Riikka is doing yoga and hiking.
Our daughter Aili likes people, animals and music and is very extrovert by nature. Our son Okko finds sports, legos and machines to be most interesting.

Translate this


We mostly bike to our workplaces, which are in the centre of Oulu, 6 kilometers from the house. We enjoy it for getting some exercise, and also for the nice scenery along the way by the river. The closest grocery store is about 1,5km away.

Translate this


This member has completed 4 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: