Alkmaar, Netherlands


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 26, 2022 - September 28, 2024 3 weeks

We allready have a swap for summer 2024.


Nice house, close to the beach, Close to Amsterdam

Summer 2024 is arranged.

Welcome to Alkmaar! We offer you our house for relaxation and activity. Windmills, tulip fields, the beach (Bergen aan zee, Hargen and Egmond aan Zee) and a 30 minutes direct ride by train to Amsterdam, 40 minutes to Haarlem and in one hour to island Texel or Utrecht.

Our house (5 bedrooms, livingroom, bathroom, kitchen, sunny garden) is situated in the suburb of Alkmaar. It’s a comfortably furnished house and haves a lot to offer in the wide surroundings. The beach (40 minutes by bike, 20 minutes by car) is situated after wavy dunes and beautiful forests. In april and may, you can enjoy the many tulipfields in the surrounding. We have a lot of activities in the surrounding for kids as well. Close to our home there is a bakery, butcher, supermarket, doctor, etc.

In and around the house we have a lot of toys for kids to play with. Our house is very childfriendly. We have Netflix, Disney+ and many family games to play with. There is a bbq in the garden and a fire pit. We have three hens in the garden, who will gives you fresh eggs every day.

The old city center of Alkmaar (famous for its cheese and also known as ‘small Amsterdam’) is about 20 minutes by bike. Next to our street is the busstop. Take bus no 2 for 1 euro to the centre of Alkmaar, the canals (rent a small boat or a canoe!), The Cheese Market, and lots of places to go for a drink. We have different bikes for you: a cargo bike, a carrier for two small kids, two city bikes and an e-bike with childseat. We have child bikes in different sizes. If you need more bikes: the bike rental will bring bikes to our home.

We are looking for nature/culture in your country and we are open for all offers.

Surf lessons at the beach:
Visit the island Texel:
Mud walking, watching seals and shrimp fishing:

We can help you with a lot of ideas the do in the surrounding.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • Teacher
  • Proces manager

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 170 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Austria
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Netherlands
  • Europe
  • Sweden
  • Iceland
  • Germany
  • United States
  • Denmark
  • Norway
  • Belgium
  • Portugal
  • Slovenia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Schiphol Airport -

Our house is situated in the suburb of Alkmaar, a friendly neighbourhood, 10 minutes by car to the centre. The beaches (Bergen aan Zee and Egmond aan zee) are 20 minutes bij car or a 40 minutes (beautiful!) biketrip. We live close to a big lake (5 minutes bij bike) with small beaches and play areas. There is a supermarket, bakery, green grocer and so on close to our home.
The busstop is next to our street.

Translate this


  • Teacher
  • Proces manager


  • Girl - Age: 3
  • Girl - Age: 9
  • Boy - Age: 6


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 9 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: