Bad Berka, Germany

Relaxing under the apple trees or at the terrace

Relaxing under the apple trees or at the terrace

Morning impression of Bad Berkas Paulinenturm

Morning impression of Bad Berkas Paulinenturm


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Welcome to the cultural center of Germany

Welcome to the cultural Center of Germany!
We live in a little town called Bad Berka close to the well known cities of Erfurt and Weimar. We are a family with four kids (meanwhile two of them live abroad and sometimes join us formholidays) and we have enough space to host 2-6 guests. We have an enlargeable table up to 14 seats and we love it when all places are needed. We like to bring the world to Bad Berka and to show more and more of the world to our kids during our holidays. Therefor we are open to host exchange students in our guest suite or to change our complete house with another family.
Our house is surrounded by apple and plum trees and you can relax in our garden. The sports center is 5 minutes from our home where the kids can uplay soccer. We offer to you a house with 240 sqm living space. In the basement there is a room to play table soccer, table tennis etc. In the ground floor you´ll find one large livingroom (70 qm) combined with the kitchen and the dining room. In the ground floor there is parents bedroom , bathroom and our office. In the upper floor you´ll find four rooms for the kids, bathroom and separate toilet .
It takes a 2 minutes walk to reach the next bakery and the next supermarket. All the other facilities like the very important ice cream parlour, the public swimming pool and some more shops are not more than 10 minutes footway apart. Bad Berka is situated at the river Ilm in a very natural environment. Little villages nearby can be reached by hiking or with bikes (you can use ours if you want). For example the little village Tiefengruben once gained the price as “the most beautiful village of Germany”.
The nearby medieval cities of Erfurt (30 minutes by car) and Weimar (15 minutes by car or bus // 25 minutes by train) are very worth visiting. They have very lovely and lively city centers and a huge variety of cultural events.
As our area is one of the main touristic destinations in Germany you will find a lot of historical and touristic attractions not far away. Let us give you a few hints:

10 kilometers:
Hohenfelden Open air Museum (about farming, school and living in former centuries)
Kletterpark Hohenfelden (climbing site, exhausting but cool for kids taller than 1,20 meters)
Avenida Therme (indoor swimming with tube slide, slide, sauna ….)
Falknerei Kranichfeld Oberschloss (falconry)
20 kilometers
Weimar City
Concentration camp Buchenwald (for historical interested ones)
Erfurt City
Senfmühle Kleinhettstedt(ancient mill still in working order)
Hainich Baumkronenpfad (walk in the tree tops of National Park Hainich)
Kyffhäuser (the monument and the Castle of Kaiser Barbarossa)
Saalfelder Feengrotten (Caves)
Schloss Leuchtenburg (Castle with a nice view over Thuringia and an interesting porcelain museum)
City of Jena
Optical museum of Jena
Imaginata (Experimental museum for kids open 10 to 18 only on Sundays and during the thuringian school holidays)
Planetarium Jena
Eisenach City and Wartburg Castle (where Martin Luther translated the bible into german)
Schwarzatal Historical vertical train
Monastery Ruin of Paulinzella and more historic castles churches worth being visited

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 4 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • Agricultural Engineer
  • Stay at home dad and administrational worker for our congregation

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 220 m2
  • Total Area: 1100 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Computer available
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Garage


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Switzerland
  • Spain
  • Slovenia
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch


  • Agricultural Engineer
  • Stay at home dad and administrational worker for our congregation


  • Girl - Age: 20
  • Girl - Age: 21
  • Girl - Age: 17
  • Boy - Age: 15


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: