County Mayo, Ireland

Our Home, Gortnafolla {July 2022}

Our Home, Gortnafolla {July 2022}


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Large Family Home in the Beautiful Irish Countryside. Situated in scenic County Mayo in the West of Ireland. 20mins from the beautiful town of Westport. 1hr from Galway City. Ideal base for exploring all that The West has to offer.

Hey! Beatha agus Sláinte.

Looking forward to chatting to InterVac Friends and seeing what we could arrange.

We are flexible and adaptable with dates, especially in the Irish school holidays (Halloween Mid Term, Christmas, February Mid Term, Easter, June, July and August).
We are also interested in mini breaks and city breaks in the UK and Spain, France, Portugal, Germany, Italy. Direct flight will get you to Ireland West Airport (25mins from our house).

Our much loved family home is set in a typical Irish countryside setting with farm animals, rivers and forestry all within minutes of the house.

The ground floor comprises of a large open plan fully equipped kitchen leading into a sun room with a spacious dining table. We have all the latest mod cons available to use which should make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is a utility room just off the kitchen. Heading out to the hallway, you will find the downstairs bathroom, large study / playroom with a desk to do any necessary work and many toys to keep young people occupied and entertained. We have a comfy living room / sitting room with an solid fuel burning stove and a large Smart TV, ideal for relaxing in and is especially cosy in the wintertime.
Upstairs there are four bedrooms. The Master Bedroom is furnished with a queen size bed, a fitted wardrobe and has its own ensuite. The other two have king size beds, one with ensuite, and there is also a main bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower. There is one smaller bedroom which is currently being used for the Boss of the House. Our toddler Nia's is set up here with her toddler bed and wardrobe for her clothes.

Our home has sizeable gardens and flowerbeds and has recently been tarmacadamed. We have a patio area to the back of the house with a seating area as well as an outdoor dining area where we love to entertain our family, neighbours and friends in the summer months when we can BBQ and eat al fresco. We have lots of space outside for playing football, riding scooters and bikes, playing with garden toys and in our paddling pool in the warmer weather.

We are located on the West Coast of the country with our nearest airport being Ireland West Airport (Knock) which is 25 minutes from our home.
Shannon Airport is 2hrs 10min from our house
Dublin Airport is 2hrs 45min away

Our home is only 5 minutes from an ancient Irish round tower and a National Museum of Country Life where Irish history, culture and heritage can be explored ( There is a picturesque playground nestled in the woods on the grounds of Turlough House, great for young children to enjoy all year round. Our house is in a perfect location for cycling as there are two safe, off road Greenways, one which travels from Turlough to Castlebar (15km round trip). The other travels from Westport to Achill Island (84km round trip) which has spectacular views of the Wild Atlantic Way.,%20Mayo.html

We are located 10 minutes from the functional town of Castlebar where you will find good shopping, cinema, theatre, bowling alley, bars and restaurants as well as a bus station and train station. The town also has many sporting facilities such as a golf course, driving range, gyms, swimming pools, tennis courts, football and rugby pitches, playgrounds, recreational parks and a beautiful lake walk with a view of Croagh Patrick.

A 25 minute drive from our house is the popular tourist area of Westport.
Here there are many fine dining restaurants and gastro pubs. In Westport there is access to numerous water activities on the Atlantic Ocean.(
If it's surfing and sailing you're after, the towns of Louisburgh and Achill are well worth a visit (both within an hours drive from the house)
There are many beaches in the direction of Westport also - Bertra Beach, Old Head Beach and Silver Strand are all very different from each other and are all worth a visit when in the locality.
We are located 50mins from Roonagh Pier from which you can get the ferry to Clare Island, Inis Boffin and Inis Turk.
Westport is also home to 'Ireland's Holy Mountain' Croagh Patrick which is extremely popular for hiking.
There are many trails and loop walks within an hour's drive of our house for exploring other parts of Beautiful Mayo.
We are not far from North Mayo's rugged and more untouched coast. An hour's drive will get you to the most beautiful Sea Stack at Down Patrick Head and the Céide Fields Neolithic Heritage Site - an area well worth exploring.

One thing is for certain, you won't be stuck for something to do here!

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Secondary School History and Geography Teacher
  • Secondary School Teacher of Irish Language and Geography

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 4
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Total Area: 2400 sq ft


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • United States
  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Malta
  • Cyprus
  • Greece
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Cuba
  • Peru
  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Peru
  • Chile

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Gaelic


  • Secondary School History and Geography Teacher
  • Secondary School Teacher of Irish Language and Geography


  • Boy - Age: 1
  • Girl - Age: 4


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

Our family consists of myself Kevin and my wife Eimear, our little girl Nia and our latest addition baby Ógie. We are both teachers who love to travel and meet new people! Nia was born just before the Pandemic hit, so we are very excited to bring her along on all our travels.

Translate this


This member has completed 4 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: