Edinburgh, Great Britain


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 12, 2024 - October 20, 2024 1 weeks

No flexibility due to school holidays.


Flat in Edinburgh, Great Britain

 We live on the seafront at Portobello, 5 miles from the centre of Edinburgh. Public transport to and from the city is fast and excellent. Portobello won the 2020 Best Community in the UK to live in, with lots of community activities & ammenties.

The flat has 4 bedrooms, all with sea views, and is an ideal base for lots of different types of holidays. Two rooms have a double bed and two rooms have single beds.   
If you have kids - the beach is on the doorstep and there are parks and swimming pool all within 2 mins walk. The promenade is also brilliant for safe cycling and gentle walks. 
For grown ups there are world class museums and art galleries, historic sights and theatre available in the city, which is 20 mins by bus. 
Portobello is a thriving community with great local facilities, an independent butcher, fish shop, general grocery shopping, chemists and delicatessen - all shops 0.5km.
The local swimming pool, 100m from the flat, has an original Turkish baths.
Our Edinburgh Favourites include - 
Museum of Scotland
Dean Gallery of Modern Art
Traverse Theatre – contemporary theatre
Dynamic Earth - interactive natural science museum
Jupiter Artland - contemporary outdoor sculpture Park
Royal Yacht Britannia
Camera Obscura
The wider area is the historic county of East Lothian ,which has many fantastic castles and places to visit. 
Our family favourites include - 
Tantallon Castle - spectacular cliff top castle.
East Lothian Family Park - brilliant day out for 2-14yrs.
Vogrie Country Park - for walks, cycling, great play area and for picnics.
Museum of Flight - with Concorde
Across Edinburgh and East Lothian there are many cycle paths which form part of the Sustrans network.
Portobello has easy access to Glasgow, Perth, Stirling and St Andrews - all about 1hr by car.


Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Finance Manager & Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Italy
  • Canada

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • Finance Manager & Teacher


  • Girl - Age: 19
  • Girl - Age: 22


  • Cat


This member has completed 3 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: