Waterloo, Canada

Getting set for Hallowe'en

Getting set for Hallowe'en

CN Tower, Toronto  (1.5 hrs)

CN Tower, Toronto (1.5 hrs)

Neighbourhood pool and tennis courts

Neighbourhood pool and tennis courts

Getting set for Hallowe'en CN Tower, Toronto  (1.5 hrs) Neighbourhood pool and tennis courts

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Comfortable family home in SW Ontario

Although we had exchange arranged for the summer of 2020, the pandemic has forced us to cancel. Maybe 2021?!

Our home is a comfortable, child-friendly two-story, with a private back yard with a gazebo, barbecue and play equipment for children. Inside, deep leather couches in a large living-room make for comfortable chats or watching Cable TV or Netflix. The playroom, in addition to having lots of kids' toys, has a beautiful saltwater aquarium. The kitchen has a well-vented large gas stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and an antique workbench island. Those who like to cook will be pleased.

Summer days in Waterloo are hot, so you'll appreciate the central air-conditioning and swimming at our nearby private community pool. Our favourite time to swim is late afternoon when the sun's heat is still strong, and the neighbourhood kids have gone home for dinner. Enjoy quiet evenings on our veranda or in the screened gazebo watching the birds. We have tennis racquets for your use at our neighbourhood courts beside the pool). And of course our Wi-fi.

We think you will find our accommodations comfortable and inviting. We know you will look after our home as carefully as we will care for yours.

Waterloo is a centre for technology and innovation situated in rich farm country. You'll find an abundance of entertainment, recreation, athletic and social activities. There is so much to do and see. Our neighbourhood has many safe walking trails. Laurel Conservation Area is a few hundred metres away, where you can swim, rent canoes for short trips around the shallow lake, or hike the forest. In August, you may enjoy the Jazz Festival in Uptown Waterloo, Movies under the Stars in Waterloo Park and the12 Bar Blues Festival in Kitchener. Local theatre is very good: Stratford, 45 minutes away, is home to world-class theatre. Kitchener's Centre in the Square has outstanding acoustics for concerts both classical and modern, an exceptional K-W Symphony Orchestra, and frequent shows by popular entertainers. Late August brings a fun Busker Festival to Waterloo. And don't forget the back roads of South-Ontario's rich and scenic farmland. Drives are easy, and worth the time to leisurely explore. If you should wish to spend more than two weeks on your visit, consider coming as our guests for a few days before we leave, and staying on for a few days after we return. We've done this before, and it has been a delight to get to know our exchange partners better, as well as provide suggestions for their holiday - and ours, and afterwards share a few our experiences.We would be pleased to help you prepare a holiday plan centred around your interests.

Waterloo has many excellent restaurants and friendly pubs for nights when you don't want to cook. Let us give you some tips on our favourites. However, August is also the perfect month to enjoy fresh produce from local farms, so you might like to stay home for dinner. We especially value Herrle's Farm Market and the St. Jacobs market in Old Order Amish country, both only 10 minutes away.

You may drive our 7-seat Toyota Sienna (with automatic transmission) for comfortable trips to Toronto, Niagara Falls, Wasaga Beach (the world's longest freshwater sandy beach), Stratford Festival, Elora Gorge, Oshweken Six Nations Reserve, or Canada's Wonderland. We are an hour from Rockwood Conservation Area, with its ancient geology, fossil-filled limestone bedrock, and placid waters for you to explore by canoe.

You will find a highchair for your baby, lots of toys for young children, as well as an outdoor climber, swing-set, covered sandbox and safe space to play.

Shari and our daughter Sarah operate Dreampower, their home-based business, year-round, so Sarah may occasionally need brief access to our basement. She will ensure she does not disrupt you, and will of course be an excellent resource for you in the event you could use advice or assistance of any kind.

We hope you'll come to Canada!

Larry & Shari

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Retired Teacher
  • Business Owner

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 4
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 240 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Garage


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Europe

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français


  • Retired Teacher
  • Business Owner


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • Saltwater fish

About Our Family

Since 1988 Shari has run Dreampower, her home-based business, making dress-up clothes for children. Larry is a retired teacher who now manages (loosely speaking) the house and cooking. We have 5 grown children, and 7 grandchildren, who range from 15 years down to 3. Our oldest son Colin is in Toronto. Sarah and Kate are in Waterloo. Ben is in Wellesley, and Amy is in Barrie. We feel fortunate they are all so close..


Our lives are pretty simple. We are looking for a comfortable home to return to after a day of travelling. A car to exchange to help keep costs low would be nice, too. Since we will be travelling with two friends, accommodation for 4 adults will be important. And enough space for us to have some alone time on rainy days would be helpful.

We don't need to see big tourist attractions. We enjoy immersing ourselves in the local culture and learning to live in your space.


This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: