Oulu, Finland

River view from roof terrace

River view from roof terrace


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Cosy, large house with a river view and large terraces

Our house is located in a place with country side feeling, with a view to the river and fields, but only 6 kilometres from the centre of Oulu. The location is beautiful by nature and the house fits the site well. The house was built in 1980 and fully renovated between 2010-2014. The architecture of the house was inspired by Alvar Aalto, and we find the interior beautiful.
The house has got a big sauna heated with wood and two other fireplaces as well.

Finland has four very different seasons. During summer You could experience the midnight sun and go swimming either in a small lake, in the river or in the sea. The swimming places in the lake and river are close by. You need a car to go to the Nallikari beach by the sea, which is about 8km away from the house. Temperatures between 20-25 celsius are quite normal during daytime in June, July and August. Our first exchange guests experienced a heat wave with temperatures around +30 for two weeks, but that hot weather is very atypical. The terraces of the house are facing south and west and sheltered from the winds, so if the sun shines the terraces are quite nice for having a meal.
We also have a canoe which can fit a family, so You could explore rivers and Finnish nature also with a canoe.

However If You wish to change during winter months, You can have the arctic experience with snow, cross country skiing and ice skating. There is a skating ring just 500 metres from the house and also skiing tracks start close. During February and March it is just lovely to go skiing or walking on the frozen river.

We have already agreed about a swap for summer 2022.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • architects

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Estonia
  • Canary Islands, Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Suomeksi

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Oulu (Oulunsalo) - 15 km

Oulu is the fifth largest city of Finland and calls itself the capital of northern Scandinavia. There are good connections to Oulu by plane or train. There is a flight from Helsinki (capital of Finland) almost every hour.
During the summer many tourists visit Nallikari beach. Oulujoki river delta is also very beautiful.
For the kids there are for example the science centre Tietomaa and Vauhtipuisto park.

The location of our house is also good for the wintertime fun: Skiing tracks start from a nearby Hiukkavaara house and the closest skating-rink is just 500 metres away. For a winter experience we would recommend months from January to April, when the sun shines.


  • architects


  • Girl - Age: 9
  • Boy - Age: 6


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a family of four people. Riikka (born 1978) , Antti (1981), Aili (2013) and Okko (2016).
As a family we like to be outdoors, go swimming and be in the parks during summer time, and go skating and sliding during wintertime. We have already done some traveling abroad with the kids as well; We have been to Rome, New York and Amsterdam. Every year we spend some time at our summer cottage in south-eastern Finland.
Us parents are both architects. Riikka is a founding partner of Luo Architects ( and Antti a founding partner of alt architects. ( Besides work Antti is interested in telemark skiing and playing guitar and base, Riikka is doing yoga and hiking.
Our daughter Aili likes people and animals and is very extrovert by nature. Our son Okko finds cars and trucks to be most interesting.


We mostly bike to our workplaces, which are in the centre of Oulu, 6 kilometers from the house. We enjoy it for getting some exercise, and also for the nice scenery along the way. The car is however necessary for doing grocery shopping. Anyhow our car is not a priority for us, but for now we have a rather small Alfa Romeo. It is comfortable for four, and can fit a maximum of five people.


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: