Galway, Ireland


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
January 13, 2024 - December 31, 2025 21

Available most of year except for July August


House in Connemara,Galway, Ireland. .

"Connemara is a savage beauty"Oscar Wilde
Our home is in a lovely peaceful area.within walking distance of shops.pubs ,beach and lake.
The Connemara National Park and beautiful Kylemore Abbey are a short drive away.Horse riding and boat hire are available in the locality.Renvyle House Hotel is a very historical hotel about 3 kms away.Scubadive West is a local water adventure centre.
Connemara is regarded as the real emerald of Ireland.
Enjoy the rugged Twelve Bens mountains,the golden beaches reaching out into the Atlantic Ocean,the constantly changing light and the wonderful unspoiled environment.
You will find the people warm and hospitable.
In the evening enjoy lovely warm turf fires after a day spent walking,,shooting or golfing.
 Dublin Airport is about 3 and a half hours away ,Knock Airport  about 2hrs and Shannon 2hrs or so
 Galway City is a very vibrant city and well worth a visit.
There are 4 children in our family. Our eldest son is living and working in the US. He is married and works for a Pharmaceutical company. He has 2 children a girl and a boy. Our second son is living and working for a computer company in Toronto. ..Our third son has just completed a Masters in Human Rights and is at present working for a firm of solicitors in Dublin .He got married last year and is now a proud father of a 3 month old son. . We have 1 daughter who is working as an Accountant in Boston. .My wife is a retired Bank Manager and I have retired from teaching.
We love visiting different countries .2012 was our first experience of inter-vac .We had a very successful exchange with a lovely Spanish family in 2012 and in 2013 we had a lovely trip to beautiful Bordeaux in France. Our third excellent exchange was to beautiful California. Next we went to beautiful Lake Garda for another great exchange .Then we had a lovely visit to the South of Spain. Last year we had a fantastic exchange in Canada. .We had a brilliant exchange in Paris.
We had a fantastic exchange in Australia. We hope to have many more exchanges in the years to come.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 4 Children
  • 8 Exchanges made


  • Retired
  • Retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Portugal
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • New Zealand
  • USA

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood


  • Retired
  • Retired


  • Boy - Age: 34
  • Boy - Age: 40
  • Boy - Age: 41
  • Girl - Age: 27


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 8 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: