Back
US093297

San Francisco, USA

My flat is in this building, above an independently-owned jewelry shop

My flat is in this building, above an independently-owned jewelry shop

Gold

Member since

2012


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 01, 2023 - August 19, 2025 2 weeks

I am flexible both in terms of duration and whether the exchange is simultaneous or non-simultaneous. Open to all offers.

Share

San Francisco, the City by the Bay

Welcome to San Francisco, the City by the Bay! I hope you will feel relaxed, comfortable, and at home here.

I live in an historic neighborhood of San Francisco. My flat is across the street from the cable car barn, and therefore not at all appropriate for people who are seeking a quiet place to stay -- it is VERY noisy here all hours of the day and night. My block is one of very few in the city with active cable car lines traversing all four sides of the block. You can catch the cable car right outside my building!

I live in a blended residential-commercial neighborhood of San Francisco in a nine-unit building with friendly neighbors. It is an intergenerational neighborhood -- you are just as likely to see an 80- or 90-year-old lifelong resident walking to the market as you are to see a parent pushing an infant in a stroller, a middle-aged neighbor walking a dog, or a young professional walking to work in the morning or back home after a night of revelry. The sounds of cable cars running and/or being repaired are always present. I find all the sounds enlivening and invigorating, but if you are someone who requires quiet in order to sleep then my neighborhood would NOT be a good fit for you.

My cozy one-bedroom, one-bath flat is perfect for 1 or 2 people to enjoy. It still retains its original 1912 hardwood floors. Its narrow bathroom (the toilet is conveniently situated in a separate room from the bathtub, shower, and sink) and itty bitty kitchen have been recently remodeled. In the kitchen, I have a toaster, gas oven, gas stove, coffee bean grinder, French press coffee pot, espresso machine, microwave, and Vitamix, in addition to, of course, all the standard kitchen utensils, cookware, dishes, and glassware. The ceilings are high - probably 11 feet - and the street-facing windows looking east let in loads of natural afternoon light. The unit has entirely separate living and dining rooms, which can be closed off from one another using the original 112-year-old wooden pocket doors. There is a small roof-top deck, as well, which is a great place to sit and relax in the mornings and evenings. The deck furniture is weather-beaten but still functional. My flat has ONE bedroom with a queen-size bed; secured WiFi; and a smart TV in the living room on which to stream Acorn, Apple TV, BritBox, Hulu, Netflix, Paramount+, Samsung TV, and YouTube.

I hope you will feel relaxed, comfortable, and at home while you are here!

IMPORTANT NOTES:

 1. There is no dishwasher, washing machine, or tumble dryer in the building. I do laundry at the laundromat on my block. I wash my dishes by hand.

 2. There are only two flat, level blocks in my neighborhood -- everything else is uphill or downhill (STEEP hills), so you will get great exercise while you stay here. This is not a neighborhood for easy, flat-level walking.

 3. Unfortunately, because there are 24 stairs from the street level up to the flat and no lift, this would not be a suitable exchange for anyone with physical limitations. 

 4. I often travel alone, but sometimes travel with friends or family members. If you and I discuss the possibility of an exchange, I will of course honor your wishes regarding which of my loved ones--if any--join me in the exchange.
Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 7 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Writer and Editor

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 2
  • Living Area: 800 sq ft
  • Total Area: 800 sq ft

References

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Terrace or deck

Facilities

  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Ελληνικά

Occupation

  • Writer and Editor

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 7 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: