San Sebastián, Spain

Donosti-San Sebastian, sea and mountain.

Donosti-San Sebastian, sea and mountain.


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 01, 2024 - August 11, 2024 2 weeks

We love someone near the coast, beaches or lakes.

December 25, 2024 - January 05, 2025 1 weeks

A sunny flat in the centre of San Sebastian

We live in San Sebastian, a cosmopolitan city about 186.00 inhabitants.
Its the capital of the Basque Country, a small country but with a strong identity. With a history stretching back over 5,000 years, it has a culture and language that is unique in the world. We speak Basque, of course. You can try it, too! :-)))
We live in a flat 5 minutes from the city centre.

Is 85m2 with a little balcony. It is very sunny because its a 5th floor and it has an open wiew.
And consists of a bathroom with a bathtub, a living room with TV and DVD, a kitchen, two large bedrooms (beds for 4-5 people) a little study (for painting, computer) and a little storage room where you can use what you need, of course.
We have a garage and a 4 seated car, that could be part of the exchange.
Also 2 adult bikes with a child seat, and other bike for 3 years old and some adult inline skates.
We live with a cat Kimu. It usually stays at home during the exchange, but if it is any problem my mother take cares of it.

It is called Egia and it is only 150 metres from the center of San Sebastian and the bus and train Station, so you can reach our home without car easily.
Just around the corner, there is all you need. (n a 5 minutes walking distance)
- A wonderfull park called Cristina Enea; little peace of nature inside the city; big trees, many birds, peacocks, ducks. It has almost 100,000m2.
- Different restaurants; basque gastronomy, pintxos, also vegan and vegetarian. mmmm!!
- Alternative bars with good music, concerts and micro theatre.
- Tabakalera cultural centre: alternative library, art expositions, and amazing sight of the city from the 4º floor.
- Indoor swimming pool with two water slides, and a little hotter pool to relax.
- Libraries, cultural centre, supermarkets, coffee shops...

Is very comfortable because it is all in a walking distance. You can also use our bikes or use our excellent public transport.
For example two of our beaches are within walking distance. (1.5km)
We like our beaches; Concha beach is the best to swim, to relax... in front of Santa Clara island. To surf the best is Zurriola beach, when the waves are big its very savage!! And Ondarreta beach is great, too. You try swimming and reach the island easily. (15min) or you can go in the island special boat, all day long. There it is a bar, toilets and some tables to do picnic. There is a lighthouse at the top.
I love to take a beer in Sagues, while at dusk, the sun goes to sleep in the horizon.
There are some outdoor public swimming pools with garden, playground, it is another option. You have to pay about 6 euros.
The old part is perfect to go and eat a "pintxo" and a beer, for example. Or to see and explore little shops. It is small but very nice. And before doing this you can go up Urgull hill, very very beautiful, and visit the little castle of La Mota. Or go to have a walk to "paseo nuevo".
I like to go to Ulia hill from time to time.You reach the top easily in 40 minutes walking and there is a very beautiful sight of San Sebastian and the sea.
You can go to Igeldo hill (and small attraction park) and there is a good sight of all the city, too.
During winter, you can enjoy yourself in ice palace!!

You can explore our region by public transport easily.
There are very beautiful little towns in the coast (Hondarribi, Getaria, San Juan, Zumaia...), and other rural towns; (Tolosa, Segura...)
And bigger ones; Bilbao, Gasteiz, Pamplona and the French part; Baiona, Donibane Garazi, Maule...
If you like trekking and climbing mountains, will be happy here!! You will like our pyrinees!!!

As you can see, there are plenty things to do!!

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 12 Exchanges made


  • Biologist and teacher (children with special needs)

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: centrica
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 85 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Television
  • Other musical instruments


  • Balcony
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Florence, Metropolitan City of Florence, Italy
  • Venice, Metropolitan City of Venice, Italy
  • Lisbon, Portugal
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Switzerland
  • Canary Islands, Spain
  • Sicily, Italy
  • Metropolitan City of Naples, Italy
  • Scotland, UK

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Loiu (Bilbao) - 80km

Our home its a flat situated in a calm quarter.
In a 5minutes walking distance you will find all you need; city center, groserys, bakerys, supermarkets, library, museum, swimmingpool, playgrounds...

Translate this


  • Biologist and teacher (children with special needs)


  • Girl - Age: 8


  • Cat (Kimu)

About Our Family

Somos Amaia (1984), Asier (1979) y Arhane (2016) Tenemos una gata, que es muy buena pero puede pasar las vacaciones en casa de la abuela :-))
Yo trabajo como educadora en diferentes escuelas y Asier es biólogo.
Somos tranquilos pero nos gusta movernos por la zona y conocer diferentes pueblos, entornos naturales..
Hemos realizado diferentes intercambios a lo largo de estos años, y hemos disfrutado de cada uno de ellos. No hemos tenido ningun problema.

We are Amaia (1984), Asier (1979) Arhane (2016) and Kimu (our cat, but we can take it to my mother´s house).
We are calm but also active and courious and love nature and animals: trekking, swimming, birding, painting...
We enjoy travelling and exchanging our home with people from other cultures. We have already done different exchanges in different places.(France, Holland, Swiss, Spain...)
We usually leave Kimu at home when new visitors come, but can leave it in our parents home.

Translate this


At weekends we like being in contact with nature; animals, birds, trees!
In summertime, we love having a bath in the sea, in the river or any like; swimming, bicycle...
We also like eating and tasting different gastronomy. And drinking a beer with our friends!
We prefer little towns to big and noisy cities.
Street theatre, jazz festivals, dance improvisations...culture in general.

Translate this


This member has completed 12 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: