Palma de Mallorca, Spain

View from our balcony looking south

View from our balcony looking south


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 10, 2024 - May 07, 2026 1 months

We are potentially interested in exchanges of any length, depending on distance.


Two-bedroom apartment in Palma de Mallorca, Spain

Mallorca is a very popular vacation destination, with excellent low-cost flight connections to almost every major city in Europe. We are looking for all kinds of exchanges, including longer-term ones—this could be a good base for an extended tour of Europe for someone from further afield. We do not need our apartment to be continuously occupied during the exchange, but if you do plan to go away for more than a couple of days then let us know so we can arrange for someone to water our plants!

This is our full-time home, not a second-home apartment that is either unoccupied or rented out on Airbnb the rest of the time. It has everything that you need for a stay of any length, including beach towels, lots of bedding, and a full set of spices in the kitchen.

Our apartment has nice views over a green wooded area either side of a stream bed that leads down to the yacht harbour of Palma, where the millionaires park their boats. From our balconies you can see the cruise ships moored in the harbour, and across the bay of Palma. We are at the top of a hill and the end of our street, so there is almost no traffic noise.

At the back of our apartment building is the 126-hectare wooded park around Bellver Castle, one of Palma's most famous attractions. The park entrance is right outside our building and to get to the castle itself requires a 10-minute walk up the hill.

We have two main bedrooms with double beds (150 and 140cm wide). One of the bedrooms has its own bathroom with shower and toilet, and also its own balcony. There is a second bathroom with shower and toilet. In the TV room, the sofa can be converted into a double bed, so in fact we can accommodate more than four people. However, we prefer to keep the advertised number at four; if you use more than two beds then you will be "camping out" a little bit.

There is a large main balcony with a table that can be used for dining, with the choice of sun or shade all day depending on exactly where you sit. For the hottest days we have an air conditioning unit in the living room, which functions as a heater in the winter. (The apartment is quite warm in winter and you only need to use this occasionally.) For most of the year we turn the air conditioning off and open the windows; we are on the 5th floor, so there is no security problem, and there is usually a light breeze to help cool things down.

We have a TV with Netflix (please connect your own account), Amazon Prime, the main UK channels (BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, etc), and a Google Chromecast device, which you can use to watch most streaming content from your phone on the TV screen. Our WiFi is fibre-based with a nominal speed of 100 Mbits/s.

The apartment building has its own swimming pool of about 8 x 4 metres, which is perfect for cooling off on a hot summer's day.

We have checked the box to indicate that our apartment is not suitable for disabled people. By this we mean that we don't have any specific features to cater for disabilities; the apartment itself ought to be fine for someone who has moderately limited mobility, as we are only one floor down from the entrance to the building and there is an elevator. However, our building is at the top of a cobbled street that is 300m long, so someone with mobility issues might need to go most places in our car or a taxi.

We do not mind children from the age of 8 or older being in the apartment, but our own children are now grown up, so we don't have things like toys or children's DVDs, which were a big part of the experience when we went on exchanges with our children 15 to 20 years ago.

We have no pets of our own. Our ability to care for pets is limited to changing dry food and water for an otherwise self-sufficient cat. But if you have a pet and can have someone else take it during the exchange then that will be OK.

We offer the use of our car, which is a Toyota Yaris hybrid from 2017, in exchange for yours. If you do not drive then the island has good public transport in general, and the bus and taxi services within Palma are excellent. (Even if you drive, it makes sense to avoid using a car in the centre of Palma.)

You can explore the area around our building on Street View here:,+39,+07015+Palma,+Illes+Balears,+Spain/@39.559665,2.6196595,3a,75y,197.41h,99.91t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1sK20XbByKX2Ceafg0R-yESQ!2e0!3e11!7i13312!8i6656!4m13!1m7!3m6!1s0x1297920adaf6a3d1:0x4aa8a7680e15b24!2sCarrer+del+Polvor%C3%AD,+Palma,+Illes+Balears,+Spain!3b1!8m2!3d39.5591925!4d2.6202884!3m4!1s0x0:0x349465034bb81007!8m2!3d39.5596781!4d2.6195888

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 24 Exchanges made


  • Retired IT manager, now an amateur academic
  • Retired administrative assistant

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 25 m2
  • Total Area: 90 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Private swimming pool


  • No smoking
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Japan
  • Finland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Palma de Mallorca - 12km, about 22 Euros in a taxi

  • mountains The North is mountainous (17.1 km)
  • sea The sea is everywhere! (8.0 km)
  • boating You can rent boats easily (2.7 km)
  • forest Parque de Bellver (0.3 km)
  • shopping Porto Pí (mall, hypermarket) (0.9 km)

We live in a very quiet residential neighbourhood called "El Terreno", which has a lot of interesting architecture. This was the first area of Palma where people came on vacation when tourism started in the 20th century. It is one of the few parts of Palma where you can see the sea without having to be in a first-line building on the main road around the harbour.

Within a 5-7 minute walk from our building you will find local shops, cafés, and restaurants, and the bus stop for trips into the centre of Palma. A little further away is the Porto Pí shopping centre, which has many international stores and a large Carrefour hypermarket.

Translate this


  • Retired IT manager, now an amateur academic
  • Retired administrative assistant


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We have two children, born in 1989 and 1991, who will not usually be travelling with us.

Translate this


We enjoy walking (cities, beaches, mountains) and exploring new places of every kind, in the car but also by bus and train. We like to eat in all classes of restaurant, from local cafeterias to fine dining.

We are not vegetarians or vegans. We consume alcohol in moderation but we do not smoke or take any other stimulants. You are welcome to smoke on our balconies (with the doors closed), but not inside the apartment.

Translate this


This member has completed 24 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: